Agency issues burn ban due to weather trapping pollution


WALLA WALLA - The Washington State Department of Ecology has called for stage-one burn bans in several Eastern Washington counties, including Walla Walla County.

Cold, stagnant air "is trapping smoke pollution near the ground, worsening air quality," according to a department news release.

The current ban restricts the use of fireplaces and all uncertified wood stoves and inserts, unless they are the residence's only source of heat.

All outdoor burning is banned.

Use of certified wood-burning devices and pellet stoves is allowed, with a recommendation to use only clean, dry wood.

Other counties under the ban include Asotin, Garfield, Columbia, Stevens, Ferry, Okanogan, Chelan and Kittitas counties.

The ban is in effect until further notice from the Department of Ecology.


Log in to comment