Five W-M grads awarded Ferguson scholarships


ATHENA -- Five graduates of Weston-McEwen High School have been awarded Ferguson Scholarships.

The students are Cole Albee, Renee Baumann, Tiffany Cain, Andrew Greenwalt and Leanne Harnden. Each student received $1,000 through the Earl and Jane Ferguson Scholarship Fund. Students were chosen based on scholastic record, leadership qualities, good citizenship and respect for the law, according to a news release.

Albee plans to continue his studies at Mt. Hood Community College. Baumann will attend Walla Walla Community College, where she will play on the volleyball team. Cain will also play volleyball at Walla Walla Community College. Greenwalt plans to study nursing at Walla Walla Community College. Harnden will attend Boise State University in the fall and plans to study mathematics.

The Earl and Jane Ferguson Scholarship Fund is a component fund of the Blue Mountain Community Foundation supported by a volunteer committee made up of residents from the Athena-Weston. The scholarship is named after former Weston residents. Earl Ferguson is a former superintendent of the Weston School District.


Log in to comment