Irish rally to district baseball title


COLFAX - DeSales bounced back from a four-run deficit behind an eight-run second inning and went on to defeat Tekoa-Oakesdale-Rosalia 10-7 in district championship baseball action here Saturday.

T-O-R pounded out four runs in the first inning to grab the 4-0 lead before the Irish came to bat.

"They (T-O-R) are a good offensive team," Irish coach Kim Cox said. "Vic (Mata, DeSales' starting pitcher) had some difficulty throwing his breaking stuff for strikes. He had to come in and they smoked balls around the yard."

The Irish answered in the home second Tim Caudill got the uprising started with a lead off single.

Kyle Lindgren singled in the first Irish run, Tommy Gregg rapped a two-run single, one of his three hits on the afternoon, and Caudill culminated the inning with a two-run double and the Irish grabbed the lead at 8-4 after two.

"I was proud of the way our kids answered in the second," Cox said. "After the first, Vic (Mata) settled down. He located his off-speed stuff better and finished with nine strikeouts. He's been our horse the whole year, and he didn't let things get to him. He got better as the game went on."

Mata ran into trouble in the seventh as TOR struck for three runs to narrow the gap to 10-7. Mata bowed his neck and struck out two of the last three he faced to end this one and give the Irish the District Championship.

"I'm pleased with what our guys have accomplished," Cox said. "They've worked hard and played well."

The Irish pounded out 12 hits as Gregg led the way with three. Travis Haen, Joe Duehn, Caudill, and Lindgren each chipped in two to help move the Irish to the regional tournament.

The district-champion Irish will play Saturday at Borleske Stadium in the Walla Walla Regional.

If the Irish, 17-4 on the year, can win two before losing one, the Irish will advance to the Class 2B final four in Yakima May 27.

DeSales 10, TOR 7

TOR 400 000 3 - 7 12 4

DeSales 081 100 x - 10 12 0

Hodges and Hereford; Mata and Duehn.

HR - none.

Hits - TOR: Hodges, Lindgren 3, Brown, Bedic 3, Tampi, Hereford 2, Renstron; DeS: Haen 2, Duehn 2, Gregg 3, Caudill 2, Lindgren 2, Fazzari.


Log in to comment