Land Trust elects slate of officers


WALLA WALLA -- Four local residents have been elected as board officers for the Blue Mountain Land Trust.

Dennis Hopwood and Andrea Burkhart will serve as co-presidents. Beth Kreger will serve as secretary and Carol Jean Thompson as treasurer.

Burkhart previously served as vice-president and Kreger and Thompson retained their offices from the past term. Outgoing president is Cheryl Scholl of Pendleton.

All four will serve two-year terms.

Burkhart, a native of Richland, graduated from Whitman College in 2000. She and her husband Jeff moved to Walla Walla in 2008 where both practice law. She has been a member of Blue Mountain Land Trust since 2009.

Hopwood, who is director of human resources at Whitman College, has been active in conservation causes for more than 20 years. He and his wife, Sharon, and daughter, Emily, have been Walla Walla residents since 2007. He also joined the land trust in 2009.

A Walla Walla resident for almost 20 years, Kreger was raised in Eugene by a mother who was a supporter of preservation of the Mount Pisgah areas.

The idea of land trusts and preservation runs through her family with her five sisters also active in supporting the cause.

Thompson, a practicing attorney and certified public accountant, is a longtime resident of Walla Walla. She has been an active participant over the years in many community organizations.

Established in 1999, the Blue Mountain Land Trust is a nonprofit organization dedicated to preserving land for recreation, wildlife habitat, open space, farmland, forests and historical purposes throughout the Blue Mountain region.


Log in to comment