Local realtors receive awards


The Walla Walla Association of Realtors unlocked a celebration honoring industry leaders throughout the community last weekend.

Eight awards were presented and officers for the 2013 year were installed during a special event last Saturday at the Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center. The annual reception is a chance to recognize leaders in local real estate and their contributions to the industry.

The awards and winners were:

National Association of Realtors 40-year Emeritus Award: Dean Blize of Linscott, Wylie & Blize.

Lifetime Achievement: Betty Simcock of Windermere Real Estate.

Realtor of the Year: Melissa Tetz of Windermere Real Estate.

Affiliate of the Year: Tera Davis of Academy Mortgage.

Citizen of the Year: Hepler’s Big Cheese Pizza.

Rookie of the Year: Kyle Williams of Williams Team Homes.

Realtor Achievement: Les Griffith of Windermere Real Estate.

Realtor Community Service: Scott & Brenda Williams of Williams Team Homes.

Also taking place during the event was the installation of 2013 officers and directors. They are: President Kenneth Butler of John L. Scott Real Estate, who was installed by Washington Association of Realtors Chief Executive Officer Steve Francks; President-Elect Doug Simcock of Windermere Real Estate; Vice President Mike Bruns of Coldwell Banker First Realtors; Treasurer Darel Tetz of United Country Walla Walla; Secretary Joanie Fullen of Coldwell Banker First Realtors; and Directors Todd Wright, Travis Watts, Kyle Williams, Peter Swant and Brenda Williams.

In attendance at the event were special guests Marie and Mark Kitabayashi of Puyallup. Mark Kitabayashi is the 2013 president of the Washington Association of Realtors.

The nonprofit Walla Walla Association of Realtors was founded in 1921 and represents more than 120 licensed professionals in the Walla Walla Valley.


Log in to comment